REVIEW: Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

After, weeks of trying to watch the Fifty Shades of Grey movie, I finally got to go see it earlier this week. The cinemas have been chronic lately because of this film and now I know why. I have read all three books and now watched the first installment of the films. Because it’s me people are shocked when I say I’ve read them. Why should they be shocked? Oh yeah because it’s about a dominant male who gets pleasure from whipping the ass of females with brown hair. Okay I never really thought of it like that but I’ve read them now there’s no going back…

Anyway there has been a lot of hate on the film, saying it wasn’t as good as the book and that it provokes bad experiences with sex. I completely disagree with everything except that it wasn’t as good as the book. Can you name a film that was ever as good as the book? Because I can’t and I always read the books before watching the film. For instance Fault in our stars, great book great film but the book will always be better.

Lets just talk about the actors! They did the best job and they played the part that everyone had envisioned from the book. They played the characters just like you would have hoped for. When it was first released who the actors were everyone was shaming Jamie Dornan for not being the right actor. But I thought he did a marvelous job he was my Christian Grey. And the same goes for Dakota Johnson she was the Anastasia Steele that I had made up in my head! The only person that didn’t really fit in for me was Luke Grimes who played Elliot Grey, he just didn’t reach my description…

There was only one thing wrong with the film… they missed some of the best parts from the book! The moment she uses the safety word, the chef that Anastasia become close with and the moment she meets Mrs Robinson. Where are these minor details. This is why the book will be better. However, the film didn’t disappoint it was everything you thought it would be and they hit the nail on the head with the major details – the red room, the grand piano and the ceiling to floor windows. It was amazing! Highly recommend to anyone, even if you haven’t read the books this film will blow your mind and definitely leave you red faced when you are leaving the cinema! I wouldn’t advise watching it with a member of your family, maybe just take your Best Friend or even your boyfriend, just NEVER your mum!

Thanks For Reading!

See You Soon…

The Girl Living Online! xx

P.S. My favourite part of the film is the conversation that goes like this…

Grey: You wouldn’t understand
Steele: Enlighten me then!

Leave a comment